The Stocktons Wing Collection

Stockton's Wing


  1. The Drops of Brandy
  2. Trip to London
  3. Take a Chance
  4. Cameron Highlanders
  5. The Concert Reel / The High Road to Linton
  6. Walk Away
  7. The Belltable
  8. My Darling Asleep / Sonny Brogans
  9. Beneath the Shade
  10. The Maid Behind The Bar
  11. The Green Gates / The Boy in the Gap
  12. Dirt Track to the Sky
  13. The Golden Stud
  14. Promenade Love
  15. Austin Tierney's / Jenny's Chickens
  16. Skidoo
  17. Ceile Swing
  18. Beautiful Affair
  19. The Humours of Tulla / The Bucks of Oranmore
  20. The Chicago Set

Sleeve Notes

The music of Stockton's Wing has evolved into an exciting blend of traditional and contemporary Irish music and song performed with power and precision by some of the finest musicians in Ireland.

In 1977 in Ennis Co. Clare All Ireland Champions Paul Roche , Maurice Lennon , Kieran Hanrahan and Tommy Hayes formed Stockton's Wing with Tony Callanan. Following their triumph at a major Guinness sponsored talent competition in Limerick they secured a recording contract with Tara Records and released their debut album '' Stockton's Wing''.

In 1979 singer / songwriter Mike Hanrahan replaced Tony Callanan and in the spring of 1980 they released their second album ''Take a Chance''. The Album featured some original music and also marked the arrival of a progressive force into the world of Irish Music. Following the success of the album they toured extensively creating a storm of enthusiasm at major Folk Festivals across Europe.

In 1982 the band released their third album ''Light In The Western Sky''. A highly polished album which represented a significant shift in their musical direction, focusing more on the bands creative original material. The album featured two hit singles ''Beautiful Affair'' and ''Walk Away''. Since then the band have toured extensively throughout the world bringing their exciting sound to America, Canada and Australia.

In the summer of 1988 they shared the stage with Michael Jackson in Cork. The following year they made a guest appearance in Dublin with the late great Sammy Davis Jnr. as part of his world tour with Frank Sinatra, and Liza Minnelli. In 1989 they went on location to take part in the Noel Pearson / Jim Sheridan film production of the John B. Keane play ''The Field'' which featured John Hurt and Oscar nominee Richard Harris.

This album is a compilation of twenty of the band's best tracks from the 'Stockton's Wing', 'Take A Chance' and 'Light in the Western Sky' albums.